SAFF Championship 2023 | Indian football team created history; Saif Championship title won for the ninth time, defeating Kuwait in the penalty shootout

PTI Photo Bengaluru: Hosts India beat Kuwait 5-0 in the penalty shootout. 4 won the SAIF Football Championship for the ninth time. Both teams till 120 minutes of play 1. were tied at 1. The score is still 4 after five rounds of the penalty shootout. It was 4 after which the decision was taken on Sudden Death. Mahesh Norem scored and Indian goalkeeper Gurpreet Sandhu dived to save Khalid Hajiya’s shot to give Kuwait the lead in regulation time through Shaaib Al Khaledi’s goal in the 14th minute, while Lallianzuala equalized for India. Scored in the 39th minute. Defending champions India and Kuwait also played their last group match 1. Played a draw from 1. 🇮🇳⚽ 🇮🇳🇮🇳🇮🇳! India’s dominance in the SAFF Championship continues as they secure their 9th title in style. 👊🏻 India asserts its superiority with a thrilling victory over Kuwait in the final. 📸 Indian Football • #KUWIND #BlueTigers #SAFFChampionship2023… — The Bharat Army (@thebharatarmy) July 4, 2023 . After which the match went into extra time, but no result could be found as both the teams could not score a single goal. After which the match was decided by penalty shootout. Sunil Chhetri-led Indian team won the SAFF Championship title for a record 9th time as India defeated Kuwait 5-4 in the penalty shootout. Also Read: Captain Sunil Chhetri, Mahesh Singh, Subhasish Bose, Lallianzuala Changte and Sandesh Jhingan scored for India in the penalty shoot-out. However, Udanta Singh failed to score on the penalty shootout. Whereas, Shabib, Ahmed, Fawaz and Abdul Aziz scored for Kuwait.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *