KKR vs RR, IPL 2023 | Jaiswal’s fighting innings after Chahal’s fatal bowling, RR beat KKR by 9 wickets

PTI Photo Kolkata: Yashasvi Jaiswal’s unbeaten 47-ball 98 helped Rajasthan Royals beat Kolkata Knight Riders by nine wickets on Thursday after IPL’s highest wicket-taker Yuzvendra Chahal’s four wickets. Royals captain Sanju Samson’s decision to bowl first after winning the toss proved correct and his bowlers restricted Kolkata Knight Riders to 149 for eight. In reply, the Royals lost just one wicket for 13. Scored 151 runs in 1 over. Jaiswal fell two runs short of his century and hit 12 fours and five sixes in his innings at a strike rate of over 200. Captain Samson, playing with him well, scored an unbeaten 48 off 29 balls, which included two fours and five sixes. KKR bowlers could not take a single wicket and Royals’ only wicket fell in the form of Jos Buttler (0) who was run out. After this win, the Royals have now reached the third position with 12 points from 12 matches, while KKR are seventh out of ten teams with ten points from 12 matches and their path to the playoffs has become difficult. 150 runs chased down in just 13.1 overs. @rajasthanroyals have won this in a jiffy with Yashasvi Jaiswal smashing an incredible 98* from just 47 balls. Scorecard – https://t.co/jOscjlr121 #TATAIPL #KKRvRR #IPL2023 pic.twitter.com/2u0TiGPByI — IndianPremierLeague (@IPL) May 11, 2023 By dismissing Nitish Rana, he broke the record of Dwayne Bravo (183) and became the highest wicket-taker in the history of IPL. Chahal sent KKR’s top run-scorer Venkatesh Iyer (57) and Shardul Thakur (one) to the pavilion by taking two wickets in three balls in the middle overs. He took four wickets for 25 runs in four overs. He also took the wicket of in-form Rinku Singh (16). In this season too, he has got 21 wickets. The KKR batsmen completely let down their home crowd and none could get going except Iyer. Read this too Iyer had scored two runs in 12 balls at one time but then opened his hands and completed his half-century in 39 balls. He was dismissed by catching Trent Boult on a ball from Chahal. Andre Russell landed at number five but scored ten runs in ten balls and lost the wicket to KM Asif. After nine overs, KKR’s score was 58 for two. Venkatesh then tried to reduce the pressure by hitting R Ashwin for two sixes. Rana hit the last ball of this over for a six and scored 76 runs after ten overs. Earlier, the Royals put the pressure on with two brilliant catches inside the powerplay. The score was 37 for two after the first six overs. Both wickets fell in Boult’s overs, who was dominant in the return match, taking two wickets for 15 runs in three overs. First Shimron Hetmyer took a brilliant catch of Jason Roy in the third over. After this, Sandeep Sharma took an excellent catch and sent Rahmanullah Gurbaz in the fifth over.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *