Hockey India | 20-member women’s hockey team announced for Australia tour, Savita will captain

New Delhi: Hockey India on Monday announced a 20-member National Women’s Hockey Team for the three-match series against Australia, starting May 18 in Adelaide. The Indian team will also play two matches against Australia A in this tour. The visit is being done in connection with the preparations for the Hangzhou Asian Games. Goalkeeper Savita has been appointed as the captain of the team while Deep Grace Ekka will be the vice-captain of the team. Bichu Devi Kharibam is the second goalkeeper in the squad. Deep Grace Ekka, Nikki Pradhan, Ishika Chowdhary, Udita and Gurjeet Kaur have been included in the defense. Nisha, Navjot Kaur, Monika, Salima Tete, Neha, Navneet Kaur, Sonika, Jyoti and Baljit Kaur will man the middle line. Veteran Vandana Katariya will lead the front line, which also includes Lalremsiami, Sangeeta Kumari and Sharmila Devi. India head coach Yanek Schopman said, “After two rigorous training sessions, we are excited to play international matches. Also read: Australia is a very strong team and we would like to play aggressive hockey. We will be tough tested and we will look to match their pace and aggression by keeping our defense strong.” India will face Australia on May 18, 20 and 21 followed by Australia A on May 25 and 27. All five matches will be played at the Met Stadium in Adelaide. (agency)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *