Europe Tour | Hockey India announces women’s team for Europe tour

New Delhi: Hockey India has announced a 20-member national women’s team for the Europe Tour, which is to play a four-nation tournament in Spain from July 16 after playing matches in Germany. . Both the tournaments are important in preparation for the Hangzhou Asian Games to be held in September-October. The Indian team will play the first three matches in Germany, one against China and two against the hosts from July 16 to 19. The team will then travel to Spain for matches against South Africa, England and the hosts from July 25 to 30. The matches are being played to mark the 100th anniversary of the Spanish Hockey Federation International Tournament. Not much has changed in the Indian team that toured Australia in May. Also Read: The team will be led by goalkeeper Savita while Deep Grace will be the ace vice-captain. Veteran defender Sushila Chanu and forward Deepika are back after being rested for the Australia tour. On the other hand, Jyoti Chhatri, who has played Junior Asia Cup, has got a place in the senior team for the first time. The Indian team is practicing at the national camp in Bengaluru. Bichoo Devi Kharibam will be the second goalkeeper while Deep Grace Ikka, Nikki Pradhan, Ishika Chowdhary, Udita and Sushila Chanu will man the defence. In the midfield, Nisha, Monika, Salima Tete, Neha, Navneet Kaur, Sonika, Baljeet Kaur, Vaishnavi Phalke and Jyoti Chhatri have been included. The forward line will have Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Sangeeta Kumari and Deepika. Head coach Yanke Schoppmann said, “The tour of Spain and Germany will give the team an opportunity to once again showcase their talent at the international level. This is very important for the preparation of the Asian Games. Team: Goalkeeper: Savita (Captain), Bichoo Devi Kharibam Defenders: Deep Grace Ikka, Nikki Pradhan, Ishika Chowdhary, Udita, Sushila Chanu Midfielders: Nisha, Monika, Salima Tete, Neha, Navneet Kaur, Sonika, Baljeet Kaur, Vaishnavi Phalke, Jyoti Chhatri Forwards: Lalremsiami, Vandana Kataria, Sangeeta Kumari, Deepika.(Agency)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *